Thread: Considering spares availability

Lurker
    Bike
    waiting
    Region
    Gauteng

Default Considering spares availability

I'm a newbie looking to get my first bike and the Crosby TT400 seems like a good buy. But looking into it a bit more revealed it to be the local flavor of a Chinese bike with a French connection pretending to be British.

The local supplier also seems to be a bit of a small shop, and I'm wondering if servicing it would become an issue 5 years down the line.

What do you recommend? Would it be better to rather just stick with the established brands?

Nuon Fangirl

Bike
    BMW R1200GS
    Region
    Gauteng

This is basically what the Europeans know as a Mash. They have been there for years, sell well and get good reviews. From what I have read, here they are also good value for money. The only issue with SA is you may well find yourself without a throat to choke in the future as motorcycle importers tend to come and go like highveld thunderstorms, so it is a risk, but the price is very competitive.

Lurker
    Bike
    waiting
    Region
    Gauteng

Do you think getting parts would be an issue if the importer up and goes? Where would one even begin to look?

Bike
    '13 Aprilia Tuono V4R
    Region
    Gauteng

Quote Originally Posted by RikRik View Post
    Do you think getting parts would be an issue if the importer up and goes? Where would one even begin to look?
    The motor is essentially a rebadged Honda XR400 (and incedently Yamaha SR400 - exact same motor), so getting motor spares should not be an issue.
    "I've always wanted to go to Switzerland to see what the army does with those wee red knives." - Billy Connolly

Nuon Fangirl

Bike
    BMW R1200GS
    Region
    Gauteng

Quote Originally Posted by RikRik View Post