Thread: Advice needed: Beginner or Refresher?

Bike
    Kawasaki ZX250R (Previously Hyo GT250R)
    Region
    Gauteng

Default Advice needed: Beginner or Refresher?

Hi all,

So I last rode in 2012, and I wasn't a pro neither.
    I am looking at getting back on two wheels so would like to undergo some type of formal training before I get on the roads. Question is; should I go for the complete beginners course or rather the refresher one?

Looking at either BMW or Synergy, so not sure which level to go for though.
    What's the difference between the two and what would you recommend?

Any advice would be appreciated...
    "A man is wise when he knows that he knows not"

Bike
    Triumph Street Triple 765 RS
    Region
    Gauteng

I'm a complete beginner, so I couldn't recommend one or the other, but I did do the BMW novice (beginner) course a week or so back, this course is mainly for absolute newcomers to bikes i reckon.

This is a rundown of what I did in the course, might help your decision on whether or not to do the Novice course.

Practical: correct seating and positioning (foot, feet, and legs), looking where you wanna go, bike controls, clutch control, basic braking, did a bit of slow and fast slalom between cones, also rode around the outer ring/edge of Zwartkops.

Theoretical: Riding gear, bit of road positioning (ie. where should you be in the road so as to have a buffer and be seen by others).

Hooligan Biker

Bike
    BMW R1200 GSA LC
    Region
    Gauteng

Welcome

From what I understand the refresher course was designed for just your situation. Been off the bike for a while or just want a quick training session.

The novice or beginner takes you from the "I can ride a bicycle stage" to the refresher course as Harvs says above. When I did it , day 2 of the beginner was the refresher course.