Thread: Test in a sports bike or hire a 250cc?

Hooligan Biker
    Bike
    GSX-R750
    Region
    Gauteng

Default Test in a sports bike or hire a 250cc?

Hi fellow 'two wheelers".

I have been riding for just about 14 or 15 months now, still on my first bike (K7 GSXR750).
    I have been riding on borrowed time though (learners licence) and it is time to make things a bit more permanent.

I reside in Alberton. Two questions:
    1. Which testing center do I go to?
    2. Do I get get test in my 750cc gixxer or hire a 250cc?

Nuon Fangirl

Bike
    BMW R1200GS
    Region
    Gauteng

1. Any testing station in your area where you can easily get an appointment. I have heard Kempton Park is better than most, but I have no personal experience.
    2. I would use the bike I am used to.

Bike
    HONDA NC750X
    Region
    Gauteng

I would also recommend that you go for a K53 Training session with a reputable organisation. On the bike you are going to use for the test.

Nuon Fangirl

Bike
    BMW R1200GS
    Region
    Gauteng

Quote Originally Posted by colyvon View Post
    I would also recommend that you go for a K53 Training session with a reputable organisation. On the bike you are going to use for the test.
    +1

Bike
    Suzuki Bandit GSF1200S, Honda CBX250, Yamaha YBR125, Suzuki GN125 'tracker, '68 Honda CB450K1
    Region
    Eastern Cape

Hi hastex,

really simple answers to #2:

It would be easier to do the test on a 250 than your bike, but I'd rather use the bike I'm familiar and comfortable with.
    Your bike is perfectly capable of getting you through the test, as long as you have the skills for slow control in particular.
    If you rent a 250, then ride the bike several times in a variety of situations in order to get completely comfortable with the feel of it.
    Try not. Do or do not, there is no try.

Hooligan Biker
    Bike
    GSX-R750
    Region
    Gauteng