Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error code 18 yamaha R6.

  1. #1
    Has a Pink Fetish warlock_yzfR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    durban - aka dirtbin
    Bike
    yamaha yzfR6 (Guinevere)
    Region
    KwaZulu-Natal
    Posts
    2,207

    Default Error code 18 yamaha R6.

    This freaking error 18 keeps popping up and the dealer keeps saying its gritty and preventing the valve in the exhaust turning but seriously this is cutting the bikes power by half!! Normally it comes on and goes away,now its been on for 2 days and my bike feels like a pathetic 125! This is ridiculous,if its stuck i'm spraying water down my exhaust then!!

  2. #2
    Ultimate Biker DaCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jo'burg Souf
    Bike
    Ducrapi look alike... Aprilia with an oil leak
    Region
    Gauteng
    Posts
    17,744

    Default

    Clean and oil the cables and make sure the valve itself is moving freely. Otherwise look at removing or disabling it completely.
    When in doubt, Gas It! It may not solve the problem, but it WILL end the suspense!

  3. #3
    Has a Pink Fetish warlock_yzfR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    durban - aka dirtbin
    Bike
    yamaha yzfR6 (Guinevere)
    Region
    KwaZulu-Natal
    Posts
    2,207

    Default

    I can't even see the valve or any cables? Now I blasted my bike with the hose earlier and blasted the exhaust,when time was to leave I started her and she idled then cut out and battled to start again. When I got her started same stupid error code and rode 35k's! Fuel light came on so I stopped and filled her and suddenly error code gone?

  4. #4
    Evil Biker Scum craigvdp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Bike
    Soon
    Region
    Gauteng
    Posts
    1,096

    Default

    Send Spirit a PM, she had the same issue and had it sorted out at DNA. :wink:
    My playstation is responsible for my driving habits

    RIP Pravesh

  5. #5
    Evil Biker Scum

    hei ew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jhb
    Bike
    100cc Scooter
    Region
    Gauteng
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    check on R6 forum.. I had a error code 8 on rev counter and got the trick to bypass on the R1 forum

  6. #6
    Hooligan Biker marco polo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Bike
    Aprilia Tuono V4R
    Region
    Gauteng
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Looks like a common problem on R6. Do you have the standard slip on?

    http://www.r6messagenet.com/forums/r...ir-manual.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •