PDA

View Full Version : Big up for Metro Police

Richardvz
20-07-2007, 09:05 AM
I know I might get a lot of flack, but this is what happened to me yesterday.

I was riding down Summit Road near the morningside Police Station yesterday evening about 5:30PM. There was a looong queue of traffic, So I thought I would practice my lane-splitting a little (as i am a novice I am usuallly a little nervous to do this). So off I went. I was so focussed on the cages all in a row, trying to pre-empt their movements, (and I must say many motorists did make space for me) that I wasn't really watching anything else. Then I got behind this X5 who saw me but didn't move over. No prob, i thought I would just wait behind it as we were approaching a traffic light. Light went green - nobody moved. So I though - ahhh, let's just go around the BM. Off I went. Across a solid white line. (oops)

Out pops a metro cop. (Big oops)

He was extremely polite and told me I went over the barrier line. I said he was right and must fine me, as I must learn my lesson. He asked for my license, I told him I only had a learners. I looked in my jacket pocket... it wasn't there. (biiiig ooops) He was very nice and gave me a lecture for not carrying my license. (once again he was right). He told me it was going to cost me R900.00 for licence and barrier line.

Well I just shrugged. It is what it is. I must feel the pain. He then reduced it to R100 on total and told me I was a pleasure to deal with, and it must be a warning to me. He saw I was married and said that if I don't adhere to the road rules, one day my wife will have to come identify my body somewhere. He said he had seen too much of that in his life, and I must really take more care to get home safely.